Goodyear Cotton Bowl Classic


Boletos para Goodyear Cotton Bowl Classic

0 Próximos eventos

Lo sentimos, no se encontró ningún evento.

Acerca de Goodyear Cotton Bowl Classic

Goodyear Cotton Bowl Classic Tickets

One of the oldest bowl games, the Cotton Bowl Classic has been held annually since 1937. With the arrival of the College Football Playoff (CFP) in the 2014-2015 season, the matchup became one of the bowl games that serves as a semifinal contest to determine one of the College Football Playoff National Championship participants every three years.

These games have already provided some of the Cotton Bowl Classic's most exciting moments. In 2015, the Alabama Crimson Tide blanketed the Michigan State Spartans, 38-0, while the 2018 game saw the No. 2 Clemson Tigers beat the No. 3 Notre Dame Fighting Irish, 30-3.

Goodyear Cotton Bowl Classic History

The first Cotton Bowl Classic occurred in 1937, when the Texas Christian University (TCU) Horned Frogs defeated the Marquette Golden Avalanche, 16-6, in front of 17,000 fans. From inception through 2009, the game was played at the Cotton Bowl Stadium in Dallas. After that, the game shifted to its current home, the 80,000-capacity venue that was known as Cowboys Stadium before being rechristened AT&T Stadium in 2013.

From the start through 1996, the Cotton Bowl Classic featured the champion of the Southwest Conference playing against another team. After that, through 2014, the game's matchup pitted a Southeastern Conference team versus a team from the Big 12.

Over the years, many college football superstars who would later find NFL fame played in the Goodyear Cotton Bowl Classic. These included TCU quarterback Sammy Baugh, Southern Methodist University's Heisman Trophy–winning halfback Doak Walker, Notre Dame quarterback Joe Montana, UCLA quarterback Troy Aikman, Heisman Trophy–winning Auburn running back Bo Jackson and Mississippi quarterback Eli Manning.