University of Washington Huskies Football


Boletos para University of Washington Huskies Football

0 Próximos eventos

Lo sentimos, no se encontró ningún evento.

Acerca de University of Washington Huskies Football

Washington Huskies Football at Husky Stadium

Seattle has a long tradition of excellent college football, and the University of Washington Huskies continue the tradition to this day. The Huskies have won 17 conference championships and seven Rose Bowls, and they claim two national championships, in 1960 and 1991. Washington plays at Alaska Airlines Field at Husky Stadium, which opened in 1920 and seats 70,083. They are coached by Chris Petersen, who has led the Huskies to at least a share of three consecutive Pac-12 titles, from 2016 to 2018, including an appearance in the 2016 College Football Playoff. 

Washington Huskies Football History

The University of Washington Huskies first took to the field in 1889 and have had consistent success since. Gil Dobie led the Huskies during an unprecedented period of success in the early 1900s, leaving with a 58-0-3 record in 1916 as part of a 64-game unbeaten streak and a 40-game winning streak. Washington joined the Pacific Coast Conference in 1916, and helped to found what was then known as the Athletic Association of Western Universities in 1959, which over the years grew into the modern Pac-12 Conference. In 1991, coach Don James, along with quarterback Billie Joe Hobert, offensive tackle Lincoln Kennedy and defensive tackle Steve Emtman, led the Huskies to an undefeated season, culminating in a Rose Bowl victory over the Michigan Wolverines, and a share of the national title with Miami. Many legendary players have suited up for the Huskies, including Warren Moon, who led Washington to a Rose Bowl victory in 1978, and fellow Pro Football Hall of Famers Hugh McElhenny and Arnie Weinmeister.

While the Huskies have many rivals in the Pac-12 Conference, none are more important than the Washington State Cougars, who they face annually in the Apple Cup. With roots dating back to 1900, the Apple Cup is the traditional final regular-season game for both teams, and in recent years had conference championship implications. In 2018, No. 16 Washington upset No. 8 Washington State 28-15 for their sixth straight Apple Cup victory, and their ninth in the past 10 years.